Bolser on Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

Indiana tight end Ted Bolser has five touchdowns this season.

Indiana tight end Ted Bolser is on the Midseason Watch List for the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding tight end in the country.

Bolser, a fifth-year senior, has five touchdown receptions this season.

Here's the full release from the school:

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana fifth-year senior tight end Ted Bolser is on the John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List, it was announced Tuesday afternoon. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at and on the official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

Bolser is tied for first nationally among tight ends with five touchdowns, is tied for seventh with 19 receptions and is 19th with 206 yards. He leads Big Ten tight ends in TDs and catches (tied) and is second in yards.

The Cincinnati native was named the John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week for his performance against Navy in week two. Bolser became the 20th Hoosier and the second tight end to reach 100 catches (101 - 21st all-time) and 1,000 yards (1,223 - 26th all-time) at Michigan State last weekend. Bob Stephenson (1978-81) holds the records with 115 receptions and 1,252 yards.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02) of the Baltimore Ravens, Kellen Winslow II (‘03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (‘08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Dwayne Allen ('11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals. Recommended Stories

  • Peyton Manning emerged alone atop yet another category in the NFL record book tonight vs the Niners, as he tossed touchdown #509 under the national spotlight of Sunday Night Football (NBC). (Photo…

  • Former USC and NFL running back LenDale White added tons of drama to what was a relatively quiet Homecoming weekend for the Trojans.

  • Here’s a way to watch football and improve your golf swing at the same time. In your living room (or on the range), practice the one-minute golf swing, as shown in this video. Set the timer on your…

  • Dr. Roto, like many others, can't believe Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson (pictured above) passed for over 300 yards and rushed for over 100 yards in the same game. First time that's ever happened…

  • As soon as those winds fall off, get into the stand! I always tell people you can't kill them if you aren't out, but if you want to try and pick an opportune time – this is it.

Up Next